Aktuelle Ausstellung
Vergangene Ausstellungen / Archiv
Programm
Verein
Artist in Residence
Kontakt

April – Juni 16

Text | engl. | Abbildungen


Artist: Peter Tscherkassky

Peter Tscherkassky’s films never allow the eye to rest and incessantly challenge the viewer visually, ontologically. The constellation of films selected for and presented in the exhibition Coming Attractions share two notable similarities: Tscherkassky created the three films in the darkroom using his own specially developed contact copying process, and the artist works with found footage. Fragments of analog commercials and movie trailers serve as Tscherkassky’s source material for his structural re-compositions, which he meticulously and consistently pushes to absurdity semantically in a tongue-in-cheek fashion. Tscherkassky’s aesthetic approach to film material is not simply deconstructive or anti-illusionistic—his works are defined by a radical, production-based, aesthetic thinking. He is interested in the possibilities of analog processing, i.e. working directly with the image material of films.

Up until 1989 Tscherkassky’s aesthetic practice was defined predominantly by Super 8 and 16 mm film. Both media were highly popular given their ease of use and availability. Apart from avant-garde film’s dictum of Nouveauté, these formats developed for private use allowed for a playful appropriation of the medium. Their roughness and graininess emphasized the materiality. “Super 8,” the artist says, “was the Pointillism, Impressionism, and Abstract Expressionism
of cinematography.”

The 35 mm short film Manufraktur (1985), the oldest of three films presented in the constellation, represents a watershed moment—in retrospect, a turning point in the artist’s working method. Tscherkassky’s specially developed contact copying process is first used in Manufraktur. He copies film by placing existing footage (found footage films) on top of unexposed, new film, and exposing it. This allows Tscherkassky not only to superimpose various film layers on top of one another, but also to interfere with the transmission or copying process in a fundamental way. Here, for the first time, Tscherkassky abandons his use of self-shot footage, and relies instead exclusively on found, professional 35 mm footage. The diegesis of the imagery no longer results from the sequencing of actual and self-shot—ultimately edited together—scenes and cuts but solely from the montage, in the fusing together of “ready-made” film material of unknown authorship in the darkroom.

Manufraktur’s source material comes from two found-footage commercials dealing with the theme of movement, one in the form of driving (Semperit tires), the other in the form of walking (Ergee stockings). In addition, the artist incorporated during the contact copying process small format photos of moving hands that he shot himself. Although movement and acceleration are legible as explicit themes of the short film created in this manner, this does not apply on a visual semantic level. Instead, Tscherkassky attempts to call attention to the kinetic energy implicit in the film image itself by speeding up the images for the viewer, thus referencing the artificial nature of all cinematic motion playback. The dramatic composition of the cuts, the transitions, and
collisions within the images create—ultimately in the eye of the viewer—an imagery of
exuberant acceleration.
In addition to superimpositions, the contact copying method developed and first applied here made an entire range of analog interventions possible. Fade-ins and fade-outs, generated by inserting black frames, additive or subtractive superimpositions of film positives and negatives, which yield interference-like, contour-esque forms, as well as the layer-like insertions of various textures (e.g. real foliage in the chapter “Cubist Cinema 3” in the film Coming Attractions) constitute Tscherkassky’s filmic vocabulary since he developed this darkroom technique.

By using different light sources (lamps and laser pointers) and by varying and moving these projection sources by hand during contact copying makes an almost painterly process of transfer possible. The hand, the ability to work with the material manually, plays a central role. One could speak of a sped-up layered image whose aesthetic effect is less a result of simple superimposition than it is the manual rewriting of one film on top of another.

The 100-cm filmstrips, fifty frames—equal to two seconds of running film—created on the editing table form the temporal building blocks of Tscherkassky’s working method. Although the two-second clips created thusly are arranged in sequence, the way in which the film unfolds and its spatial diegetic development are not necessarily linear. The possibilities of multiple exposures allow for different film sequences (temporal layers) and visual spatial layers to be superimposed, intertwined, interfered with, or to almost even cancel one another out. With Tscherkassky, pictorial temporality and the fleeting duration of the moving filmic image encounter one another producing a collision of competing forms of temporality. Still, photographic, and moving / accelerated filmic imagery are not opposites but maintain a dialectical relationship. In terms of process, Tscherkassky’s work starts with the individual, still image or frame and leads to multiplicity, the continuum of images. The hinge between the various temporal states of the image is not just formed by the projector, which ultimately speeds the image up again, synthesizing it in the eye of the viewer, but the “human factor” as Tscherkassky calls it, instances of deviation and the aleatory in the manual process. Nevertheless, the designation “experimental” would completely miss the mark. Tscherkassky’s way of working involves, in spite of its radical production aesthetic and process-based approach, a variety of compositional, planning-like elements. The way he deals with the material is not controlled by its potential impact, but dictated by the element of process as well as the material’s unique dynamics.

In l'Arrivée (1998), Tscherkassky again makes use of the contact copying process. Here, the artist works with material from a movie trailer to Terence Young’s Mayerling from 1969. But he mirrors the train in Mayerling entering from the left in a citation of Lumière’s L'Arrivée d'un train à La Ciotat (1895) in order to reformulate its semantics. The three-minute short film emerges out of the pure whiteness of the projection light. Dirt and scratches provide a lead-in to the sequence of events as the scenery materializes out of the “noise.” Out of the initially iconic “nothingness” a film image scenario of the most rudimentary dramatic “features” slowly begins to take form. Although extremely shaky and constantly corroding and disintegrating, the train arrives, collides with its own mirrored image in the film, until finally the person arriving at the station (Catherine Deneuve) gets off and, as expected dramatically, falls into the arms of a man (Omar Sharif), thereby abruptly satisfying the quickly constructed cinematic expectations. The white screen at the outset becomes a symbol for the expectations of the potential image-to-come, of the cinematic image itself. In its allusion to the early Lumière film, the arrival of the train functions as a metaphor for the expectations surrounding the new medium during the Lumière-era. From a meta-filmic perspective, however, Tscherkassky’s scenery can be interpreted as a critical metaphor for film’s present-day cultural status, in other words the end of the analogue film era, and thus as an ironic commentary on the mechanisms of cultural-industrial progress.

Coming Attractions (2010), the third and most elaborate film, which also provides the exhibition its title, undertakes—rich in film historical allusions—a focused juxtaposition of three different forms of the moving image ingrained with an exhibitionist element: early cinema, avant-garde film, and the format of commercials. Exhibitionism, the pleasure of showing yourself—meaning the individuals shown as well as the medium and its possibilities—was an inherent aspect of early cinema, it was only too happy to show what it was capable of. The audience was continually aware that something was recorded, that something was being shown. In no uncertain terms, it was also directly addressed, looked at, even spoken to. A complicity existed between observer and observed, a silent agreement of seeing and being seen. Only later, in the 1910s, this complicity gave way to the voyeuristic gaze that wanted to make the audience forget that the camera records and that film is ultimately a construct.

In the spirit of this initially exhibitionist mode of the gaze, the first shot in Coming Attractions shows the searching, probing, and simultaneously expectant look of a man—in actuality a short excerpt from a hairdryer commercial—so that the viewer is reminded of the act of looking from the very outset. Tscherkassky is, of course, therefore not just referring to communication through eye contact, the cinematic dispositif, and the spatial conditions of cinema. The film, however, not only begins self-reflexively vis-à-vis the fundamental constituents of seeing and filmic perception, but also film-historically by directing our attention to the beginnings of cinema that increasingly determined its subsequent course.

In the second shot, Tscherkassky focuses on the newest of the three film genres: commercials.  Superimposed, interlocked, and interlaced takes of a lascivious looking actress in an original Auer wafers commercial confront the viewer. These are not the final, finished shots, but what are called rushes—quickly executed and examined recordings of amateur actors—in order to “capture” on camera a potentially spontaneous-looking expression of the woman from the multiplicity of images. Looking directly into the camera and flirting with the viewer and his seduction (ultimately for the advertised product) is the sole purpose of this obsessive-like sequence of takes. The repetition factor, the actor’s countless attempts to look directly into the eye of the camera as spontaneously as possible, gives the scenario an oppressive, absurdist tone. Immediacy and spontaneity not only become their opposites but they are pushed to absurdity.

In eleven total chapter sequences, whose titles make slightly altered references to film history and theory, Tscherkassky combines the three worlds of film imagery from early cinema, avant-garde film, and commercials into various constellations, bringing them into dialogue with one another. Thus, in chapter one (“Cubist Cinema 1”) the laborious repetition of a hair dyer model repeatedly peering into the camera with the same expression becomes the immediate response to the searching look of the man in the rearview mirror in the initial scene. In the fourth chapter, Tscherkassky transforms Fernand Leger's Ballet mécanique into a “Ballet monotonique.” The laundry woman walking up a staircase on the Seine in the original film is in Tscherkassky’s film replaced by the actor from a Tia Maria coffee liqueur advertising. The strong black and white contrasts of the stairs mutate allusively into bars. The Cubist-original’s celebration of the machine age is transformed into mechanization and depersonalization.

Tscherkassky also devotes a chapter to early cinema’s interest in uncontrolled processes such as the movements of plants, ocean waves, smoke, or crowds (“nature caught in the act”). Modeled after Rough Sea at Dover (1896), “Rough Sea at Nowhere” focuses on liquid being poured into an overflowing glass of soda. The repetition of adding more liquid and the overflowing glass in this soda cartridge commercial can be read as a suggestive metaphor. The final chapter juxtaposes a Pasolini actor (from Arabian Nights) with a tractor driver of highly dubious acting skills from an absurd Pfanni commercial. Both of these two entirely different forms of precariousness captured on film bring the viewer into the game as an embarrassed third party, making him cognizant of himself as an observer.

Without committing itself one way or the other, Tscherkassky’s filmic imagery alternates between being conceptual or material-based. Tscherkassky’s found-footage films indulge in the pleasure of materiality and the independent life of the images and are also marked by subtle film-historical references that coalesce into a compelling meta-film. Here, great cinema encounters in a matter-of-fact way the small, banal, and amateur. Tscherkassky forms structures of micro-narratives whose charm and awkwardness make up a substantial part of his work’s subtle irony. He questions the auratic nature of the movie image and the authority of the avant-garde and, at the same time, employs humorous means in pitting advertising against itself.

Conscious of the so-called “end” of analog film, Tscherkassky engages in an aesthetic, referential game where polemics are as foreign as nostalgia, but where an element of melancholy runs deep. For Tscherkassky, it is not about a simple appropriation or re-appropriation of the material, or an analysis of the cinematic apparatus, rather, his films are episodes of working with the memory of cinema: memories of its media, memories of the once future promises of the cinematic self.

 

Text: David Komary
Translation: Erik Smith

Aktuelle Ausstellung
Vergangene Ausstellungen / Archiv
Programm
Verein
Artist in Residence
Kontakt

April – Juni 16

Text | engl. | Abbildungen


Künstler: Peter Tscherkassky

Peter Tscherkasskys Filme lassen den Blick nicht zur Ruhe kommen und fordern den Betrachter dabei bildontologisch unablässig heraus. Die Konstellation der ausgewählten Filme der Ausstellung Coming Attractions zeichnet sich durch zwei markante Gemeinsamkeiten aus – einerseits sind die drei Filme in der Dunkelkammer, mit dem eigens von Tscherkassky entwickelten Kontaktkopierverfahren entstanden, andererseits verarbeitet der Künstler Found-Footage: Fragmente analoger Werbefilme und Filmtrailer bilden das Ausgangsmaterial von Tscherkasskys strukturellen Rekompositionen und werden behutsam und stets mit einem Augenzwinkern semantisch ad absurdum geführt. Tscherkasskys ästhetischer Umgang mit dem filmischem Material ist dabei nicht bloß dekonstruktivistisch oder antiillusionistisch – seine Arbeiten sind von einem radikal produktionsästhetischen Denken bestimmt. Ihn interessieren die Möglichkeiten dezidiert analoger Bearbeitung, d.h. des unmittelbaren Zugriffs auf das filmische Bildmaterial. 

Tscherkasskys ästhetische Praxis war bis 1989 deutlich vom Super-8- und 16-mm-Film bestimmt. Beide Medien erfreuten sich wegen einfacher Handhabung und Verfügbarkeit großer Beliebtheit. Jenseits des Diktums der „Nouveauté“ des Avantgardefilms erlaubten diese für den privaten Gebrauch entwickelten Filmformate die spielerische Aneignung des Mediums. Ihre Grobheit und Körnigkeit rückten die Materialität in den Vordergrund. „Super 8“, so der Künstler „war der Pointillismus, Impressionismus und abstrakte Expressionismus der Kinematografie“.
Der 35-mm-Kurzfilm Manufraktur (1985), der älteste Film der gezeigten Dreierkonstellation, bedeutet eine Zäsur, retrospektiv betrachtet eine Wende in der Arbeitsweise des Künstlers. Manufraktur bildet den Ursprung jenes von Tscherkassky eigens entwickelten Kontaktkopierverfahrens, bei dem er vorhandenes Filmmaterial (Found-Footage-Filme) auf einen unbelichteten, neuen Film legt, belichtet und somit kopiert. Auf diese Weise vermag Tscherkassky nicht nur unterschiedliche Filmbildschichten übereinanderzulegen, sondern auch wesentlich in den Übertragungs- bzw. Kopierprozess einzugreifen. Tscherkassky bediente sich hier erstmals nicht mehr selbst gedrehter, sondern ausschließlich vorgefundener professioneller Filmaufnahmen im 35-mm-Format. Die Bildraumdiegese fand nicht mehr durch Folgen real und selbst gefilmter, anschließend zusammengesetzter Aufnahmen und Schnitte statt, sondern einzig in der Montage, der Verdichtung „fertigen“ Filmmaterials fremder Autorschaft in der Dunkelkammer.

Das Ausgangsmaterial von Manufraktur bilden zwei Found-Footage-Werbefilme, die Bewegung zum Thema haben, einmal in Form von Autofahren (Semperitreifen), das andere mal in Form von Gehen (Ergee-Damenstrümpfe). Zudem arbeitet der Künstler im Kontaktkopierverfahren selbst aufgenommene Kleinbildfotos von bewegten Händen ein. Wenn auch Bewegung und Beschleunigung als explizite Themen des auf diese Weise entstandenen Kurzfilms ‚lesbar werden, so nicht auf abbildhaft-semantische Art und Weise. Stattdessen versucht Tscherkassky, die implizit kinetische Energie des Filmbildes selbst zur Erscheinung zu bringen, indem er dem Betrachter die Beschleunigung der Bilder vor Augen führt und somit auf das artifizielle Wesen jeglicher filmischer Bewegungswiedergabe verweist. Über die Dramaturgie der Schnitte, die Überblendungen, innerbildliche Kollisionen formiert sich – letztlich im Auge des Betrachters – ein Bildraum überbordender Akzeleration.

Das hier entwickelte und erstmals angewandte Kontaktkopierverfahren ließ neben Überlagerungen eine ganze Reihe analoger Eingriffe zu. Fade-in und Fade-out, erzeugt durch das Einarbeiten von Schwarzkadern, additive oder subtraktive Überlagerung von Filmbildpositiv und -negativ, die sozusagen interferenzartig umrisshafte Nachgestalten hervorbringt, sowie das das layerhafte Einarbeiten unterschiedlicher Texturen (beispielsweise von echten Laubblättern im Kapitel „Cubist Cinema 3“ im Film Coming Attractions) sind seit der Entwicklung dieser Dunkelkammertechnik konstitutiv für Tscherkasskys filmische Sprache.

Mittels unterschiedlicher Lichtquellen (Lampen und Laserpointer) und durch das händische Variieren und Bewegen dieser Projektionsquellen beim Kontaktkopieren wird ein beinahe malerischer Prozess der Übertragung möglich. Die Hand, der direkte manuelle Zugriff auf das Material, spielt dabei eine zentrale Rolle. Man könnte von einem dynamisierten Schichtbild sprechen, dessen ästhetische Wirkung weniger auf schlichter Überlagerung basiert, sondern durch das manuelle Umschreiben eines Films auf den anderen zustandekommt.

Die temporalen Grundbausteine von Tscherkasskys Arbeitsweise bilden die jeweils am Schneidetisch bearbeiteten 100 cm Filmstreifen, 50 Kader, das entspricht 2 Sekunden Filmlaufzeit. Trotz der sukzessiven Aneinanderreihung der auf diese Weise entstandenen 2-Sekunden-Einheiten ist die innerfilmische und raumdiegetische Entwicklung nicht notwendigerweise linear. Durch die Möglichkeiten der Mehrfachbelichtung lassen sich unterschiedliche filmische Abläufe (Zeitebenen) und bildräumliche Ebenen übereinanderlegen, verschränken, einander stören oder auch beinahe auslöschen. Bei Tscherkassky kollidieren unterschiedliche Formen der Zeitlichkeit, indem piktorale Zeitlichkeit und die flüchtige Dauer des filmischen Bewegtbilds aufeinandertreffen. Stillgestelltes, fotografisches und bewegtes/beschleunigtes filmisches Bild stehen dabei nicht in einem Gegensatz, sondern unterhalten ein dialektisches Verhältnis. Tscherkasskys Arbeit geht prozesshaft betrachtet vom Einzelnen, vom Standbild bzw. Kader zur Vielheit, zum Bildkontinuum. Das Scharnier zwischen den unterschiedlichen temporalen Verfasstheiten des Bildes bildet nicht bloß der Projektor, der das Bild letztlich wieder beschleunigt und im Auge des Betrachters synthetisieren lässt, sondern der „human factor“ wie Tscherkassky es nennt, Momente der Abweichung und Aleatorik im manuellen Prozess. Dennoch wäre die Bezeichnung „experimentell“ völlig unzutreffend. Tscherkasskys Arbeitsweise beinhaltet, obgleich radikal produktionsästhetisch und prozesshaft ausgerichtet, eine Vielzahl kompositorischer, planerischer Elemente. Sein Umgang mit dem Material ist dabei nicht von der möglichen Wirkung her gedacht, sondern von einem prozesshaften Moment sowie der Eigendynamik der Materials mitbestimmt.

In l’Arrivée (1998) greift Tscherkassky das Kontaktkopierverfahren wieder auf. Hier verarbeitet der Künstler Material eines Kinotrailers zu Mayerling von Terence Young aus dem Jahr 1969. Er spiegelte jedoch den in Mayerling von links einfahrenden Zug, um ihn als Zitat von Lumières L’Arrivée d’un train à La Ciotat (1895)umsemantisieren zu können. Der dreiminütige Kurzfilm tritt aus dem reinen Weiß des Projektionslichts hervor. Verschmutzungen und Kratzer leiten das Geschehen ein und lassen die Szenerie aus dem „Rauschen“ hervortreten. Aus dem anfänglichen ikonischen „Nichts“ formiert sich langsam ein filmbildliches Szenario rudimentärster dramaturgischen „Ausstattung“. Wenn auch äußerst brüchig und immer wieder zersetzt und aufgelöst, fährt der Zug ein, kollidiert mit der eigenen filmbildlichen Spiegelung, bis schließlich die am Bahnhof Eintreffende (Catherine Deneuve) aussteigt und dramaturgisch erwartungsgemäß einem Mann (Omar Sharif) in die Arme fällt und auf diese Weise die rasch aufgebaute filmische Erwartungshaltung abrupt befriedigt. Die anfänglich weiße Leinwand wird zum Sinnbild für die Erwartung an das mögliche kommende Bild, ans filmische Bild selbst. Das Einfahren des Zuges fungiert in Anspielung an den frühen Lumière-Film als Metapher für die Erwartungshaltung gegenüber dem zu Zeiten Lumières neue Medium. Metafilmisch gelesen wird die Szenerie bei Tscherkassky jedoch zur kritischen Metapher für die kulturelle Gegenwart des Films, sprich das Ende des analogen Filmzeitalters, und somit zum ironischen Kommentar auf die Mechanismen kulturindustriellen Fortschritts.

Coming Attractions (2010), der dritte und umfangreichste Film, der auch für die gesamte Ausstellung titelgebend war, unternimmt filmhistorisch anspielungsreich die gezielte Engführung dreier unterschiedlicher Formen des Bewegtbildes, denen ein exhibitionistisches Moment zu eigen ist: das frühe Kino, der Avantgardefilm und das Format des Werbefilms. Das Exhibitionistische, das Vergnügen sich – dies meint gezeigte Personen wie auch das Medium und seine Möglichkeiten selbst – zu zeigen, war dem frühen Kino inhärent, es zeigte nur zu gerne, was es vermag. Dem Zuschauer war dabei noch stets bewusst, dass etwas aufgenommen, etwas gezeigt wurde, er wurde auch durchaus direkt adressiert, angeblickt, gar angesprochen. Zwischen Betrachter und Betrachtetem bestand eine Komplizenschaft, eine stille Abmachung von Sehen und Gesehenwerden. Erst später, in den 1910er-Jahren wich diese Komplizenschaft dem voyeuristischen Blick, der den Zuschauer vergessen machen wollte, dass die Kamera aufnimmt und der Film letztlich ein Konstruiertes ist.

Im Sinne dieser anfänglich exhibitionistischen Blickregie zeigt die erste Einstellung in Coming Attractions den suchenden, prüfenden, zugleich erwartungsvollen Blick eines Mannes – realiter ein kurzer Filmausschnitt einer Haarföhnreklame –, sodass der Betrachter gleich zu Beginn an den Akt des Schauens erinnert wird. Tscherkassky verweist damit freilich nicht bloß auf die Kommunikation durch Blicke, das filmische Dispositiv und die räumlichen Gegebenheiten des Kino. Der Film setzt jedoch nicht nur selbstreflexiv bezüglich der grundlegenden Konstituenten des Sehens und der filmischen Wahrnehmung an, sondern mehr noch filmgeschichtlich, indem er den Blick zurück richtet auf die Anfänge des Kinos, die den späteren Verlauf zunehmend bestimmen.

In der zweiten Einstellung widmet sich Tscherkassky der jüngsten der drei Filmbildgattungen, der Werbung. Der Betrachter wird mit überlagerten, ineinander verschränkten und verschachtelten Aufnahmen einer lasziv wirkenden Darstellerin konfrontiert, die im Original Werbung für Auer-Schnitten macht. Es handelt sich dabei jedoch nicht um fertige Aufnahmen, sondern um sogenannte Rushes – schnell gemachte und gesichtete Aufnahmen von Laiendarstellern –, um aus der Vielzahl von Aufnahmen einen möglichst spontan wirkenden Blick der Frau in die Kamera „einzufangen“. Der direkte Blick in die Kamera, die Koketterie mit dem Betrachter und dessen Verführung (letztlich zum beworbenen Produkt), ist einziger Dreh- und Angelpunkt dieser obsessiv anmutenden Aufnahmefolgen. Das Moment der Wiederholung, die unzähligen Versuche, so spontan wie möglich den Blick dem Kameraauge zuzuwenden, verleiht dem Szenario eine beklemmende, absurde Note. Unmittelbarkeit und Spontanität werden nicht nur ins Gegenteil verkehrt, sondern ad absurdum geführt.

In insgesamt elf Kapiteln, deren Titel leicht verfremdete Verweise auf Filmgeschichte und -theorie bilden, lässt Tscherkassky die drei Filmbildwelten von frühem Kino, Avantgardefilm und Werbefilm in unterschiedlichen Konstellationen aufeinandertreffen und in Dialog zueinander treten. So wird in Kapitel 1 („Cubist Cinema 1) die mühselige Wiederholung der immergleichen Blickbewegung eines Haarföhn-Models in die Kamera zur direkten Antwort auf den suchenden Blick des Mannes in den Rückspiegel in der einleitenden Szene. Im vierten Kapiel lässt Tscherkassky Fernand Legers Ballet mécanique zum „Ballet Monotonique“ werden. Die Wäschefrau, die im Originalfilm eine Treppe an der Seine hinaufsteigt, wird bei Tscherkassky durch die Darstellerin einer Tia-Maria-Kaffeelikör-Werbung substituiert. Die zwischen harten Schwarz-Weiß-Kontrasten changierende Treppe mutiert anspielungsreich zu Gitterstäben. Die Feier des Maschinenzeitalters des kubistischen Originals schlägt um in Mechanisierung und Depersonalisierung.

Auch dem Interesse des frühen Kinos an unkontrollierten Abläufen wie Bewegungen von Pflanzen, Meereswellen, Rauchschwaden oder Menschenmassen („nature caught in act“) widmet Tscherkassky ein Kapitel. In Anlehnung an Rough sea at Dover (1896) fokussiert „Rough sea at Nowhere“ das Überlaufen beim Einschenken eines Sodaglases. Das wiederholte Einschenken und das Überlaufen des Glases bei diesen Werbeaufnahmen für Sodapatronen wird als anzügliche Metapher lesbar. Das letzte Kapitel lässt schließlich einen Pasolini-Darsteller (aus Arabian Nights) mit einem an schauspielerischer Unglaubwürdigkeit kaum zu übertreffenden Traktorfahrer aus einer inszenatorisch absurden Pfanni-Werbung zusammentreffen. Diese beiden gänzlich unterschiedlichen Formen filmisch aufgezeichneter Unsicherheit bringen den Betrachter als peinlich berührten Dritten ins Spiel treten und lassen ihn seiner selbst als Beobachter bewusst werden.

Ohne sich je für das eine oder andere zu entscheiden, changiert Tscherkasskys Filmbild zwischen konzeptuellem und materiellem Status. Tscherkasskys Found-Footage-Filme frönen der Freude an der Materialität und dem Eigenleben der Bilder und sind zudem von subtilen filmhistorischen Verweisen geprägt, die sich zu einem affizierenden Metafilm verdichten. Großes Kino trifft hier wie selbstverständlich auf das Kleine, Banale und Laienhafte. Tscherkassky formiert Gefüge aus Mikronarrativen, deren Charme und Unbeholfenheit einen wesentlichen Teil der subtilen ironischen Wirkung seiner Arbeiten ausmachen. Er versieht das Auratische des Kinobildes, und die Autorität der Avantgarde mit Fragezeichen und lässt zugleich humorvoll die Absicht der Werbung gegen sich selbst antreten.

Im Wissen um das sogenannte „Ende“ des analogen Films betreibt Tscherkassky ein ästhetisch-referenzielles Spiel, dem Polemik ebenso fremd ist wie Nostalgie, dem aber durchaus ein melancholisches Moment zu eigen ist. Tscherkassky geht es nicht um schlichte Aneignung oder Wiederaneigung des Materials, auch nicht bloß um Analysen des cinematischen Apparats – seine Filme sind vielmehr Epsioden einer cinematischen Gedächtnisarbeit: Erinnerungen an das eigene Medium, Erinnerungen an einstige Verheißungen der Zukunft des Filmischen selbst.

 

David Komary